SOC estimation industrial state of the art

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    emil
    Participant

Hello everybody,

I am Emil, in the past 7 years I have been a researchers around battery models and BMSs. I recently joined LEM, a company that focuses on electrical measurement devices for, among others, batteries.

During my years as a researcher I have read tons of publications about all kinds of methods for state of charge (SOC) estimation. Filters including various kind of models (equivalent circuits, electrochemical, etc.), various flavours of machine learning, methods based on “exotic” measurements such as ultrasound or pressure, etcetera.

From my – admittedly limited – interactions with industry, I got the impression that a “fine tuned coulomb counting” is actually still the most widespread method out there. Most of my interactions have been with people in small to medium companies, which probably simply didn’t have the manpower to optimize their algorithms. Still, often they seemed “content enough” with their coulomb counting.

In short, I perceived a gap between research and industry, and I am curious to understand if this is due to my point of observation or other people share this impression.

In your experience, what is the industry state of the art around SOC estimation? And why is that?
    1) Coulomb counting with OCV correction at rest;
    2) Filter (Kalman or other) based on equivalent circuit model;
    3) Filter based on an electrochemical model;
    4) Other methods, based on machine learning / data-driven approaches;
    5) Other methods, based on further measurements (e.g. impedance, ultrasound, etc.);
    6) Other methods, not in this list;
    And how do you think this will evolve in the near future?

I am really curious to get other points of view on this topic! 🙂

Cheers,

Emil

Meringue
    Participant

Hi Emil,